The Young Professional of the Year Award strives to promote the accomplishments of young engineers under the age of 30 by highlighting their engineering contributions and the resulting impact on society. The campaign is designed to enhance and improve the image of engineering by recognizing young, diverse and talented engineers, thereby portraying engineering as an exciting profession open to everyone.

Ross barron is engineering council’s Young Professional of the Year

Ross Barron, a professional engineer with Olsson, has been named the 2019 Young Professional of the Year by the American Council of Engineering Companies of Nebraska.

Barron, a technical leader and bridge engineer, holds a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and is working toward completing his master’s degree in engineering management this spring. In his 10-year career, his work has included the Norfolk Avenue bridge reconstruction in Norfolk; more recently, the Tri-Faith Campus circular pedestrian bridge in Omaha; numerous highway bridge reconstruction and repairs throughout the state for the Nebraska Department of Transportation; and various concrete spillways and environmental structures for the Flood Control District of Maricopa County in Arizona.

“Although I’ve worked on several engineering projects throughout the country, I still maintain a strong desire to deliver successful engineering solutions to friends and neighbors in my community,” he said. “The recent completion of the Rosa Parks bridge repairs solved a dangerous issue for many Lincoln drivers. People I know in my community got excited about this project. Through these interactions, I can feel my purpose in the community as it supports my passions in life.”

Barron’s industry involvement includes serving as a board member and vice president for the Lincoln Engineers Club and on the NDOT subcommittee for ACEC Nebraska. He serves as a director of the board for the Lincoln Parks Foundation and volunteers with student outreach for the UNL College of Engineering.

Previous Year’s Winners

Craig Reinsch

Craig Reinsch

Olsson Associates

Joe Zadina

Joe Zadina

Lamp, Rynearson & Associates

Austin Yates

Austin Yates

Alfred Benesch & Company

Katie L. Underwood

Olsson Associates

Joe Flaxbeard

Joe Flaxbeard

Lamp Rynearson & Associates

Sarah Gudeman


John Smith


Adam Denney

Felsburg Holt & Ullevig

Aaron Grote